Short answer
Stay on Fin if you want an AI agent answering on the helpdesk you already run (its pricing page promises "Set up in under an hour") and $0.99 per outcome is small next to your support payroll.[4] Consider an alternative if Fin's billing does not match how you measure success: it counts a resolution when "No further help is requested after Fin's last answer."[4] Consider one too if customer conversations must stay on your own infrastructure, or if Salesforce's ownership, completed on 10 September 2026, changes your vendor review.[3] The alternatives are Zendesk's AI agents, or your own agent on your helpdesk with a self-hosted model.
Fin's about page opens with "Founded as Intercom in 2011, we revolutionized modern customer communication." Its 2026 entries read "The company is renamed from Intercom to Fin." and "Transitions to in-house, purpose-built AI model, Apex 1.0."[1]
On 15 June 2026 Intercom's blog announced that "we just signed an agreement for Salesforce to acquire Fin for ~$3.6B".[2] Salesforce's press release of 10 September 2026 says it "has completed its acquisition of Fin, formerly Intercom", and that "As part of Salesforce's AI Labs, Fin will continue to serve its customers, advance its AI agent capabilities…"[3]
Fin is sold two ways: on the helpdesk you already run, and together with the Intercom helpdesk. The two are priced differently, and which one you buy decides most of the bill.
On your existing helpdesk, fin.ai/pricing states "$ 0.99 per outcome" with a "50 outcomes per month minimum", and names Intercom, Salesforce, HubSpot, Freshworks, Dixa, Front, Zoho, Sprinklr and Gorgias as the helpdesks it works with.[4]
That option carries no seat charge at all. The pricing FAQ for a non-Intercom helpdesk reads "Unlimited teammates – No additional seat costs." and "There are no additional costs, such as integration fees, setup fees, or platform charges."[4] The seat prices below apply only to the Intercom-helpdesk option, which is where a seat-count argument against Fin applies.
With the Intercom helpdesk you pay for seats on top of outcomes, and the figure depends on how you are billed. On its default "Billed annually" toggle, intercom.com/pricing lists Essential at "$19 per seat/mo", Advanced at "$85 per seat/mo" and Expert at "$132 per seat/mo", each alongside "Fin AI Agent $0.99 per outcome". Billed monthly, the same three plans are $39, $99 and $139: the page's embedded schema.org Offer data gives "price":39 with "unitText":"SEAT_PER_MONTH" for Essential, and its FAQ says "you can move onto our Essential plan starting at $39 per seat per month." Copilot is a separate add-on at "$29 per agent/month billed annually, or $35 per agent/month billed monthly".[5] Budget from the column that matches your own billing term, not from the cheaper one.
One caveat on the Essential seat price specifically: it is served from a live pricing experiment. The markup wraps it in data-experiment="team-self-serve-essential-price-reduction", and on the same day the two sites rendered different cohorts to us — variant=treatment on intercom.com/pricing showing "$19 per seat/mo", and variant=control on fin.ai/pricing showing "$ 29 per helpdesk seat per month".[5][4] So the bottom of the seat range is whichever figure your own session is allocated. Take the Essential number from your order form, not from either page.
Four outcome types are billed at the same price, not three: "Resolutions, Procedure handoffs, disqualifications, and self-serve routings are $0.99 each. Qualifications are $9.99 each." A resolution is defined as "Resolution: No further help is requested after Fin's last answer.", and a self-serve routing as Fin matching "a prospect to a routing outcome marked as Self-serve, for example, directing them to sign up for a trial." Billing is capped per conversation: "You're only charged for one outcome per conversation, even if Fin takes multiple actions.", and "You're not charged when a conversation is simply passed to your team without an outcome."[4]
| Fin | Zendesk AI agents | Own agent (self-hosted model on your helpdesk) | |
|---|---|---|---|
| What you are billed for | Four outcome types at $0.99 each (resolution, Procedure handoff, disqualification, self-serve routing) and $9.99 per qualification; "You're only charged for one outcome per conversation, even if Fin takes multiple actions."[4] | Automated resolutions, "the unit of measurement used for calculating and billing your account for AI agent usage", grouped into three tiers. "Assisted escalation" and "Contained resolution" each "does not count against your resolution allowance"; only "Verified resolution", defined as "The AI agent successfully resolved the interaction.", draws on it[7] | Nothing per conversation; you pay for tokens or for GPU hours |
| When a conversation counts as over | "Resolution: No further help is requested after Fin's last answer."[4] | By channel: "Email: The conversation ends 72 hours after the last email in the conversation."; messaging ends 2 hours after the last message by default, "though this can be increased up to 72 hours"; "Voice: The conversation ends immediately upon hangup." An LLM then "evaluates the text of the conversation to confirm that the customer's request was satisfactorily resolved"[7] | Your own definition, checked against a sample a person has labelled |
| Cost model | $0.99 per outcome with a 50-outcome monthly minimum on other helpdesks, and no seat charge there.[4] With the Intercom helpdesk, seats are $19–$132 billed annually, or $39–$139 billed monthly, plus Copilot at $29 or $35 per agent a month[5] | A pool, not a per-agent quota: "Your account is automatically credited with a resolution allowance, from which the cost of the automated resolutions is drawn." The tiers apply on "Team, Growth, Professional, Enterprise, or Enterprise Plus" plans[7]. The per-agent monthly allotments, the 10,000-a-year cap and overage pricing belonged to the model retired on 18 May 2026[8] | Model inference plus engineering and operations; no per-conversation fee |
| Code and data ownership | "Your customer data stays yours"; "Fin can use anonymized customer data for model fine-tuning, and you can opt out at any time with data deleted within 30 days. Third-party AI providers are contractually restricted from using your data for training, with zero data retention policies in place once an output is generated."[6] | Governed by your Zendesk agreement; the resolution tiers doc does not cover data terms[7] | Conversations, prompts and the model stay on your infrastructure; the code is yours |
| Time to launch | "Set up in under an hour"; "During the 14-day trial, you'll have unlimited access to Fin outcomes, with no limits on usage."[4] | Not stated in the resolution tiers doc[7] | Scoped per project |
| Lock-in: term, notice, exit | "Minimum commitments apply."[4] Procedures and knowledge sources are configured inside Fin and have to be rebuilt elsewhere; the owner changed to Salesforce on 10 September 2026[3] | Not stated in the resolution tiers doc; the annual expiry of an allocation belonged to the model retired on 18 May 2026[8] | No vendor contract; the dependency is your own team |
| Customisation and model choice | "Customizable tone and answer length" and "Takes action to update external systems"[4]; the model is Fin's choice — "Fin uses OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, and Intercom models, switching automatically to maintain performance."[6] | Configured inside Zendesk; not covered by the resolution tiers doc[7] | Any model, prompt, tool, escalation rule and language |
| Compliance and data residency | "Fin holds SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, ISO 27018, ISO 42001, HIPAA, and GDPR/CCPA compliance."; "Data hosted in the US, EU, or Australia"[6] | Not covered by the resolution tiers doc[7] | Your infrastructure; the certifications are yours to obtain |
| Scale and availability | "Fin resolves over 2 million conversations weekly"[1]; "backed by a 99.8% SLA"[6] | Not covered by the resolution tiers doc[7] | Your capacity, sized for your peak |
The two open-source helpdesks are licensed differently. Chatwoot's LICENSE separates the tree: "All content that resides under the "enterprise/" directory" carries its own terms, while "Content outside of the above mentioned directories … is available under the "MIT Expat" license".[9] Zammad is published under the GNU AGPL v3.[10] Read the boundary before you build on either.
The model is the small part. Assume a support conversation of 3,000 input and 500 output tokens.
On OpenAI's gpt-5.6-luna, at $0.20 per million input tokens and $1.20 per million output tokens,[11] that conversation costs about $0.0012 — $0.0006 of input plus $0.0006 of output. Self-hosted it is a share of GPU time instead: Azure's retail price for one Standard_NC40ads_H100_v5 (H100 NVL) in East US is $6.98 an hour.[12] Either way the model call is three orders of magnitude below the $0.99 outcome price. The difference pays for everything around the model: retrieval over your help content, the helpdesk integration, evaluation, actions in other systems and operations, which is the work an own agent consists of.
| Cost driver | What drives it | Public reference point |
|---|---|---|
| Model inference | Conversations per hour at peak, languages, context length | gpt-5.6-luna at $0.20 and $1.20 per million tokens[11]; or self-hosted with vLLM, Apache-2.0,[13] on GPUs from $6.98 an hour[12] |
| Retrieval over help content | Articles, policies and product data kept current | No public reference; scoped per project |
| Helpdesk integration | Reading tickets, writing replies, handing off to a human | Your helpdesk's API, or Chatwoot[9] or Zammad[10] |
| Evaluation and quality review | Labelled conversations, rerun on every change | No public reference; scoped per project |
| Actions in other systems | Refunds, order changes, account updates behind permissions | No public reference; each integration is scoped |
| Operations | Monitoring, incident response, model upgrades | No public reference; scoped per project |
Yes. Fin's about page says "Founded as Intercom in 2011, we revolutionized modern customer communication." and records for 2026 that "The company is renamed from Intercom to Fin." The same page notes the move to an in-house model: "Transitions to in-house, purpose-built AI model, Apex 1.0."[1]
Yes. Intercom's blog announced on 15 June 2026 that "we just signed an agreement for Salesforce to acquire Fin for ~$3.6B".[2] Salesforce's press release of 10 September 2026 says it "has completed its acquisition of Fin, formerly Intercom", and that "As part of Salesforce's AI Labs, Fin will continue to serve its customers, advance its AI agent capabilities…"[3]
One outcome per conversation, in one of five kinds. "Resolutions, Procedure handoffs, disqualifications, and self-serve routings are $0.99 each. Qualifications are $9.99 each." A resolution means "No further help is requested after Fin's last answer", and a self-serve routing means Fin matched "a prospect to a routing outcome marked as Self-serve, for example, directing them to sign up for a trial." "You're only charged for one outcome per conversation, even if Fin takes multiple actions", and "You're not charged when a conversation is simply passed to your team without an outcome."[4]
Outcomes stay at $0.99, and seats are added. On the default "Billed annually" toggle intercom.com/pricing shows "$19 per seat/mo" for Essential, "$85 per seat/mo" for Advanced and "$132 per seat/mo" for Expert; billed monthly the same plans are $39, $99 and $139 a seat, and the page's FAQ puts it as "you can move onto our Essential plan starting at $39 per seat per month." Copilot is an extra "$29 per agent/month billed annually, or $35 per agent/month billed monthly".[5] The Essential figure is inside a live pricing experiment (data-experiment="team-self-serve-essential-price-reduction"), and on the same day intercom.com/pricing served us "$19 per seat/mo" while fin.ai/pricing served "$ 29 per helpdesk seat per month", so confirm that one on your order form.[5][4] On any other helpdesk there is no seat charge: "Unlimited teammates – No additional seat costs."[4]
Since 18 May 2026, from an allowance rather than a per-agent quota: "Your account is automatically credited with a resolution allowance, from which the cost of the automated resolutions is drawn." Resolutions fall into three tiers — "Assisted escalation" and "Contained resolution", each of which "does not count against your resolution allowance", and "Verified resolution", where an LLM confirms the request was satisfactorily resolved.[7] The older per-agent allotments with a 10,000-a-year cap describe the model retired on that date.[8]
Its trust page says "Fin can use anonymized customer data for model fine-tuning, and you can opt out at any time with data deleted within 30 days. Third-party AI providers are contractually restricted from using your data for training, with zero data retention policies in place once an output is generated."[6]
Yes: a self-hosted model, retrieval over your help content, and your helpdesk's API, with a person approving replies until the labelled set says otherwise. AI on your own servers covers what to decide first, and vLLM vs Ollama covers what to serve it with.
About amBrain
Disclosure: this page is published by amBrain. The last column of the comparison table is the kind of work amBrain does. Every vendor fact on this page links to its source and was read on the date shown there; prices quoted from Intercom are the ones its pricing page renders on its default annual-billing toggle. Fin, Intercom, Salesforce, Zendesk, Chatwoot, Zammad, OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Microsoft Azure and vLLM are trademarks of their owners and are used only to identify the products discussed. No vendor named here reviewed or endorsed this page.
Related